AAPC Announces Campaign Excellence Awards for the 2021 cycle


Alana Joyce
Executive Director
+1 703-245-8021
[email protected]


For Immediate Release

May 18, 2022

AAPC Announces Campaign Excellence Awards for the 2021 cycle
Youngkin for Governor named Campaign of the Year and Stop the Republican Recall of Gavin Newsom named Digital Campaign of the Year

San Juan, Puerto Rico (May 18, 2022) —The American Association of Political Consultants (AAPC)—America’s largest and only bipartisan network of political professionals— today announced the winners of the AAPC Campaign Excellence Awards for exceptional work during the 2021 cycle. These awards were presented at a special ceremony in conjunction with the annual AAPC Pollie Awards & Conference in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

The Campaign Excellence Awards are a longstanding tradition of the AAPC and recognize those individuals who have significantly contributed to the success of a candidate or public affairs campaign and whose conduct has been consistent with the Professional Code of Ethics of the AAPC.

“The 2022 Campaign Excellence Award winners far surpassed the high bar of scrutiny set out in our standards of judging. The effort, dedication and masterful skills these individuals employed during the 2021 campaign cycle deserves tremendous recognition, and AAPC is proud to provide just that,” said AAPC President Becki Donatelli. “It’s a privilege to celebrate these outstanding political practitioners together at the Pollie Conference,” added AAPC Vice President Larry Huynh.

“Political Marketing + Media and our affiliates PlayFly Sports and Home Team Sports would like to offer congratulations to the 2022 Campaign Excellence Award winners,” said Stephen Ullman, Managing Partner of Political Marketing + Media. “We are honored to share in their celebration at the 2022 Pollie Conference.”

AAPC Campaign Excellence Award Winners

Ballot Measure Campaign of the Year (Local): Save Austin Now – Proposition B

Ballot Measure Campaign of the Year (Statewide): Cannabis Community for Fairness and Safety (CCFS) – No on 119

Public Affairs Campaign of the Year: Every Bottle Back

Independent Expenditure Campaign of the Year: All of Mpls

Campaign Manager of the Year, Non-Statewide (Democratic): Katie Moore, Eric Adams for Mayor

Campaign Manager of the Year, Non-Statewide (Republican): Matt Brownfield, Jake Ellzey for Congress

Fundraiser of the Year (Democratic): Darren Rigger, Dynamic SRG – NYC Campaigns for Borough Presidents and Speaker

Fundraiser of the Year (Republican): Jenniffer Ortiz-Alizieri, Campaign Solutions, CDI Ads and Winning Tuesday – Larry Elder for Governor

Digital Campaign of the Year: Stop the Republican Recall of Gavin Newsom

Campaign Manager of the Year, Statewide (Democratic): Juan Rodrigiez, Stop the Republican Recall of Gavin Newsom

Campaign Manager of the Year, Statewide (Republican): Klarke Kilgore, Jason Miyares for Virginia Attorney General

Most Valuable Player of the Year (Democratic): Kendra-Sue Derby, Howard Franklin & Candice Franklin, Andre Dickens for Atlanta Mayor

 Most Valuable Player of the Year (Republican): Kristin Davison, Youngkin Campaign

Pollster of the Year (Democratic): Tulchin Research, Eric Adams for Mayor of New York City 2021

Pollster of the Year (Republican): WPAi AND Tarrance Group – Youngkin for Governor

Campaign of the Year: Youngkin for Governor


About the 2022 AAPC Pollie Conference

As the premier industry event, the 2022 Pollie Awards & Conference is held in San Juan, Puerto Rico from May 17-19, 2022 and brings the leading political professionals in the world together to network and hear from top technology innovators, pollsters, pundits and service providers. The Conference features cutting-edge programming on key industry trends, designed to empower attendees to leverage the latest techniques in campaign strategy and management. The Conference is widely recognized as the must-attend event for political consultants, media buyers, public affairs specialists, suppliers, industry leaders and journalists. For details, visit www.theaapc.org.

About AAPC
Founded in 1969, the AAPC is a multi-partisan organization of political and public affairs professionals dedicated to improving democracy. The AAPC has over 1,400 members hailing from all corners of the globe.  It is the largest association of political and public affairs professionals in the world. For more information, see www.theaapc.org.

About Political Marketing + Media

Founded in 2014, Political Marketing + Media specializes in matching political candidates, committees + advocacy groups with the best local, regional + national sports, news and entertainment programming and events. For more information, see politicalmarketingandmedia.com.